Art Law Subject Guide

Where to start your search
SIA-NY library catalogue
 - for books, dvds, SIA-NY student theses and journals held at the SIA-NY Library

WorldCat
 - for books, journals, theses, dissertations and dvds held had other libraries as well as article citations (usually NOT full text)


Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

LexisNexis Academic
 - for cases, statutes, codes and law review articles

Hein Online
 - for law review articles

Many other resources are listed below in this guide but the four above are probably the most helpful and wide-ranging.
Dictionaries
Black's Law Dictionary ( SIA-NY Library has print version only)
A comprehensive and recognized authority, available in both print and online versions.

Nolo's Plain English Law Dictionary
Not as comprehensive as Black's Law Dictionary but employs language that is clear and easier for a non-legal audience to understand.

WEX - Legal Encyclopedia (Legal Information Institute of Cornell University Law School)
A community-built law dictionary and encyclopedia that draws heavily on Nolo's Plain English Law Dictionary definitions but also incorporates illustrative hyperlinked case law and code references

Books
Most art law books have call numbers starting with K (i.e. K487.A3 L394 2011 or KF4288.Z9 L49 2005) and are located in the middle of the stacks range facing the windows.

Below are a few key titles but these are just starting points and a small portion of the collection. To really get to know the art law collection we recommend browsing the shelf area and searching the library's online catalogue using keywords, specific titles or any of the recommended subject headings listed in this guide.
 

Introductions



                                  
 

Treatises



Casebooks



Art Law: Cases and Materials                 

 

Specific Topics



                         

 
Journals and Newsletters
Art & Advocacy - publication of Herrick, Feinstein LLP. Issues available in PDF format online.

Cardozo Arts & Entertainment Law Journal - full text available online

The Columbia Journal of Law and the Arts - click on title for links to indexed and full-text content (on-site or proxy server access only) and to check exact issues held at the SIA-NY Library

Cultural Heritage & Arts Review - The American Society of International Law - click on title to check exact issues held at the SIA-NY Library and link to PDF of most recent issue

Entertainment, Arts and Sports Law Journal of the New York State Bar Association - not available online, click on title to check exact issues held at the SIA-NY Library

Journal of Art Crime - published twice a year by the Association for Research into Crimes against Art (ARCA).

Journal of the Copyright Society of the USA - not available online, click on title to check exact issues held at the SIA-NY Library

Spencer's Art Law Journal  - all articles are online and full-text through Artnet.com.
Databases and Online Resources
Art Law and Cultural Property - Cases and Statutes (IFAR) Restricted Resource Some full text available - An extensive body of primarily U.S. case law, including both litigated cases and, notably, hard-to-find, out-of-court settlements. Relevant cases are summarized (where possible, with images of the art objects in question). There are also links to relevant U.S. statutes, foreign legislation and a glossary. A very useful resource for "non-lawyers".

Google Scholar Restricted Resource Some full text available  - select the "Legal Opinions and Journals" option just below the search box

Hein Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
HeinOnline is the world's largest image-based legal research collection. It provides exact page images of the documents in PDF format just as they appear in the original print. The Sotheby's Institute of Art-New York Library subscription includes the valuable Law Journal Library with more than 1,600 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is comprehensive, beginning with the first issue ever published. Among the other collections included: Treaties and Agreements Library, U.S. Statutes at Large and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.
Here is a short video on how to start your legal research in HeinOnline

Justia Restricted Resource Some full text available - free online resource for US legal cases and Statutes and Code

Legal Information Institute of Cornell University Law School - useful portal with information on both US and international law

Legal Protection of Cultural Property Resource Guide

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available - (on-site or proxy server access only) - to search for cases (US and some international), statutes and code and full text law review articles

PACER (Public Access to Court Electronic Records) Restricted Resource Some full text available - allows users to obtain case and docket information from federal appellate, district and bankruptcy courts, and the PACER Case Locator via the Internet. PACER charges $0.10/page but if your total fees per quarter are less than $10 the fees are waived.

ProQuest (Combined Search) Restricted Resource Some full text available - searches 34 ProQuest databases at once including art- and business-focused article databases, newspapers databases and ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. These aren't legal resources but may be able to provide a wide range of general information on a case or legal issue in a more accessible "non-legalese" format.

Resources Related to Art, Entertainment, and Sports Law - Georgetown Law Library
Very useful collection of art law research resources.

UNESCO - Culture Section - Legal Instruments
Citation and Legal Writing Information
In general, "Bluebook: a uniform system of citation" is used for citing most legal resources at Sotheby's Institute of Art - New York. The Chicago Manual of Style actually defers to either "Bluebook" or "ALWD" for citing legal materials such as cases, codes and statutes.

Citation resources available at or through the SIA-NY Library


Bluebook: a uniform system of citation - Bluebook is used for citing most legal resources (cases, codes, statutes, etc.)

Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed. online Version) - on-site or proxy server access only for the online edition. The library also holds multiple copies of the print edition.

For more citation information, consult the Citing Sources guide.

Helpful online resources for legal citation


Basic Legal Citation - online guide to legal citation formats from Cornell University Law School's Legal Information Institute

Georgetown Law Library Bluebook Guide - online guide with examples and explanations for citing cases, statutes and other resources using Bluebook

Legal writing guides


Academic legal writing: law review articles, student notes, seminar papers and getting on law review - by Eugene Volokh (2007)

The elements of legal style - by Bryan A. Garner (2002)

Legal writing in plain English: at text with exercises - by Bryan A. Garner (2001)

DVDs
The library has a small collection of DVDs on topics relating to art law - yes, you can check them out!

                         
Subject Specialist
Picture: Erin Elliott

Erin Elliott
Head Librarian
Tel: 517-2780

Quick Online Tutorials
The online tutorials below will walk you through some of the more common basic art law searching.

How to Find a US Case in LexisNexis - includes information on Shepardizing to find additional related resources for a case.
 
Subject Headings
Below is an alphabetical list of subject headings commonly used for artist-search related material in library catalogues.

Use these in the Subject search field in a library catalogue or in WorldCat to help focus your search.

Clicking on the links below will automatically search the SIA-NY library online catalogue.

Archaeological thefts
Antiquities - Collection and preservation - Moral and ethical aspects
Appropriation (Art)
Archaeology--Moral and ethical aspects
Archaeology - Moral and ethical aspects - congresses
Art - Expertising
Architects--Legal status, laws, etc.
Art -- Collectors and Collecting
Art and state--United States
Art dealers--Legal status, laws, etc.
Art - expertising
Art Protection
Art rental and lending services
Art Thefts
Art--Collectors and collecting
Art—Forgeries
Artists -- Legal status, law, etc -- United States
Artists -- Legal status, laws, etc.
Artists' contracts
Artists' Contracts -- United States
Auctions
Censorship
Christie, Manson & Woods
Copyright
Copyright -- Art
Copyright -- Art -- United States
Copyright and electronic data
Copyright Art, Performing Arts - Law and Legislation
Copyright--Art
Copyright--Art--United States
Copyright--Performing Arts
Copyright -- Photographs
Cultural Property -- Protection
Cultural Property -- Protection -- International Law
Cultural Property -- Protection -- Law and legislation
Fair Use (Copyright)
Law and art
Law and art -- United States
Museums -- Law and legislation
Museums -- law and legislation -- United States
Photocopying -- Fair Use (Copyright)
Public Domain (Copyright)
Theater - Law and Legislation
Video recordings -- Fair Use (Copyright)
Hein Online's Law Journal Library

Hein Online Legal Research from Sotheby's Institute of Art on Vimeo.

Examples of Past Art Law Papers
Several SIA-NY student art law papers have been published in the New York State Bar Association's Entertainment, Arts and Sports Law Journal.

Below is a link to a bibliography of published articles. All listed issues of the journal are available for consultation in the SIA-NY library.

Published articles written by SIA-NY students
Other Local Libraries
Below are some local libraries with legal resources.

NY County Courts Public Access Library
80 Center Street - room 468
646.386.3715
 - Students can visit the local NYC county public access libraries free of charge.
 - Many useful resources are listed in the lefthand menu under Library Services, Law-Related Websites and Decisions.

NYU Law School Library

 - Generally not open access to outside researchers. Website suggests many useful online resources and guides. 
- Contact SIA-NY Librarians if you wish to consult material held exclusively at this library. We may be able to provide access through the METRO title card system.

NY Law School Library
 - Generally not open access to outside researchers. Website suggests many useful online resources and guides. 
- Contact SIA-NY Librarians if you wish to consult material held exclusively at this library. We may be able to provide access through the METRO title card system.